View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Oct 20, 2018 3:39 pm

Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
 Martello Towers 
Admin

Post Martello Towers
The chain of these fortifications along the south coast, built during the Napoleonic Wars, make an impressive sight, and I believe are worthy of mention under this section of the forum.

They are not, however, confined to the south coast and the one nearest to me is in Suffolk, on the east coast, at Aldeburgh, which I believe, and open to correction, is the most northerly in England.

I am no expert of these fortifications, but they do seem to vary in design as the two links will show. This Wikipedia site also says they were "exported" to the Colonies!

A fascinating subject, I think; please feel free to add.

Mon Sep 05, 2005 12:40 pm
Profile YIM
Admin

I am quite fond of martello towers. I've never been in one but I've seen them along the Sussex coast while travelling from Hastings to the Beachy Head area.

Mon Sep 05, 2005 5:22 pm
Profile YIM
Lieutenant

There are a number of Martello Towers in Canada. A few weeks ago I was in one of them which houses the Museum for the Royal Military College in Kingston, Ontario, and with perfect timing, a thunderstorm struck while we were up on the gun deck. It was quite something to be among the 32 pounders while the rain was beating on the roof, lightening was flashing through the windows and the thunder was rumbling all around us. There at least 4 of them guarding Kingston Harbour, a couple in Quebec City, with thin walls on the Citadel side, so they could be destroyed by the Citadel guns if they fell into enemy hands, and some in Halifax, NS.

Cheers

Tue Sep 06, 2005 4:54 am
Lieutenant

More on Martello Towers: http://www.boldts.net/Kingston4.shtml