View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Aug 24, 2017 1:07 am

Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
 Navy Discounts 
Admin

Post Navy Discounts

The Times, September 9th, 1785:

" .... Navy Discounts are reduced so far as barely to get five per cent interest - and every Banker is London is abounding with cash, and at a loss how to employ his money. ...."

What were "navy discounts"? Seeing as I am no expert on the matter of high finance, could someone elaborate as to what the snippet means?

Thanks .....

Wed Dec 23, 2009 11:46 am
Profile YIM
Commander

I think that this refers to the rate of discount charged on purchase of Navy Bills (see our disciussion of 8/11/09 under Wages/Pay).

Wed Dec 23, 2009 8:52 pm
Lieutenant

The topic of Navy Bills is touched on by N.A.M. Roger (The Wooden World, Chapter 1B and The Command of the Ocean .. 1649-1815 Chapter 19). These 'promissory notes' or 'IOUs' had been issued by the Navy Commission since Cromwellian times, and allowed the Treasurer of the Navy to maintain an effective navy on credit, independent of any money that the Houses of Parliament might vote to the Navy Estimates from time to time.

If one searches the archives of The London Gazette at about this period one finds hundreds of notices from the Navy-Office or Victualling-Office either inviting tenders for the supply of materials, or inviting holders of Navy Bills to bring them for payment. The invitations to tender, which could be for timber, canvas, masonry work, plumbing materials, or even "cheque shirts" (19 November 1791), normally specified that the supplier would be "paid for in Navy Bills with the Discount added." Sometimes it would be phrased "Discount to make it equivalent to money" or something similar. The sums involved could be quite high: there are two notices in the Gazette at about this time, offering a reward of one guinea for lost Navy Bills: one lost by a supplier of tar and worth GBP 619.75 and another worth GBP 822.87 to a mason.